Managing passwords


Vector.png

The old navigation will be removed from Jira Align in version 10.127.1.
Learn more about the upcoming changes


Add users

You can add users and assign them roles on the people page. To add a user, see the Add users article. After you add a user, the user receives an invitation email (New User Setup) with a temporary password and a link to reset the temporary password.

You can configure the minimum password length, uppercase and numeric characters in Security settings.


Resend invitations 

You can resend an invitation email to new users to let them access the application even if their invitation link expired. To resend the invitation email, go to the people page, select the necessary user, and then click the Resend Invitation link. This link appears only if the user was created but did not sign in to the application.

You can configure the expiration time of the temporary links in Security settings. The maximum and default value is 24 hours.


Reset passwords

You can reset the user's password on the people page. Select the necessary user, and then click the Reset User Password link. If users cannot reset a password by themselves for any reason, you can send them a link to reset their password directly. Copy the link from the Password Reset Link box, and then send the link to a user.

Note: The ability to reset passwords will be removed when Disable Manual Sign In in Security settings is set to Yes as users will only be able to login via SSO.

Locked accounts

You can unlock the users' accounts if they were automatically locked out after a number of incorrect attempts to enter their password. To unlock the account, go to the people page, select the necessary user, and then click the Unlock link.


Deactivated accounts

You can deactivate users' accounts if they left the company or for any other security reasons, and you can also activate their accounts.

To activate or deactivate the account, go to the people page, select the necessary user, and then click the Activate or Deactivate link respectively. After you activated or deactivated a user’s profile, the status on the Edit User page will change to Active or Inactive respectively. 

You can also activate or deactivate users’ accounts by using the import functionality. Go to the people page and select More Actions > Import Users Records. In the import template, find the Active User column and set the Active or Deactivated status for users. 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Print Friendly Version of this pagePrint Get a PDF version of this webpagePDF

Join the Atlassian Community!

The Atlassian Community is a unique, highly collaborative space where customers and Atlassians come together. Ask questions and get answers, start discussions, and collaborate with thousands of other Jira Align customers. Visit the Jira Align Community Collection today.

Need to contact Jira Align Support? Please open a support request.