10X: Add Time Tracking Users

In Jira Align, you can add users, assign them roles, and add them to the teams. If you want to allow users to track time in Jira Align, you need to set up the following additional fields:

  • Manager and Contractor Manager are two types of user managers. A manager should be a company employee; a contractor manager should be a contractor. A contractor manager is a manager of a user with the contractor type employee classification. Generally, this is the person the contractor reports to within the contracting organization. A contractor manager and manager cannot be the same person. You can set the employee classification for a user on the right panel.
  • Time Tracking Start Date. The date when users can start tracking their time on the timesheet. The time tracking start date must be valid and between the record start and end dates inclusive. The date can be set earlier than today’s date, but not before the end of the latest locked time tracking period. If you leave the field blank, today’s date is entered automatically when the record is saved. Access will be granted at midnight (12 A.M.) of the selected date. The start date is removed when the users are automatically deactivated.
  • Time Approver. A person who is responsible for approving and managing user’s time. This person will be a default time approver, but users can select the other approver when submitting time if this time approver is sick or unavailable for some reason.
  • Holiday Calendar. A calendar the user will use when tracking time. In some cases, users might not use their region’s default calendar. For example, people from India may want to use the US holiday calendar so they work in sync with US team members. The list includes the calendars created for a certain region under Administration > Time Tracking. If you select a calendar different than the users’ region's calendar, they will see the holidays for the selected region instead of the region they reside in on their timesheet.
  • Holiday City. The list includes the calendars created for a certain city under Administration > Time Tracking. Use this option together with the Holiday Calendar option.
  • Time Tracking Roles. Time tracking roles that can be applied in addition to the standard system roles. The user can have multiple time tracking roles, which define what the user can see in the product. The roles created under Administration > Roles > Time Tracking Roles appear here.

To add a user with a time tracking role:

  1. Select Administration from the left menu bar.
  2. Under Access Controls, click People, and then click the Add button.
  3. Complete the required fields. For more information, see the Add users topic.
  4. Turn on the View Time Tracking Settings option. Additional fields appear.
    Note: This option is disabled if the user’s region is not approved for time tracking. You can enable time tracking for the region under Administration > Workday > Enable time tracking for this region.
  5. If you want to include hours for this user in your financial system for billing purposes, turn on the Include Hours option. 
  6. If you want to make this user a manager and be able to set this user as a Manager or a Contractor Manager, turn on the User Is a Manager option.
  7. From the Manager drop-down menu, select the user’s manager.
  8. If the user is a contractor, select the user’s manager within the contracting organization from the Contractor Manager drop-down menu.
  9. Click in the Time Tracking Start Date box, and then select the date the user can start to track time on.
  10. From the Time Approver drop-down menu, select the person who is responsible for approving and managing the user’s time.
  11. From the Holiday Calendar drop-down menu, select the region’s calendar the user will use when tracking time. The user will see the holidays for the selected region on the timesheet.
  12. From the Holiday City drop-down menu, select the city's calendar for a user if needed.
  13. If the user is a person who approves time trackers during an audit in your organization, turn on the Compliance Manager option.
  14. Click in the Time Tracking Roles box, and then select the roles that you want to apply to this user. Time tracking roles are applied in addition to the standard system roles as added permissions.
    Note: If this user is a contractor and the Time Approvers Must Be Company Employees option is turned on on the Time Tracking Settings page (Administration > Time Tracking > General Time Tracking Settings), you cannot apply the Time Administrator and Time Approver roles to this user.
  15. Set the employee classification for the user, and then click Save & Close.
    Note: Under Time Tracking Settings, you can view the standard, maximum, and minimum number of hours for an employee. These values are read-only and can be set under Administration > Time Tracking.

Billing rates

The blended rate is set under Administration > Time Tracking > Blended Rates and can be overridden here. You may want to override the rate if the employee works for some time on a special task or for another team. The individual rate (employee classification with the Employee using this classification will have individual rates option turned on) can be set and edited here. The employees will see their and other employees’ billing rates if you turn on the View Billing Rate option for their role under Jira Align Roles > Administration > People or the View billing rates for all users option or the View billing rates for direct reports only option under Time Tracking RolesTeam > Time > Reports. If you have this option selected for time tracking roles, the billing rate is exported in the Detailed Time Report and User Attributes Export Report. If you have this option selected for standard roles, the billing rate is available on the user’s record page and in the user export.

To set a billing rate for the user:

  1. Select Administration from the left menu bar.
  2. Under Access Controls, click People, and then click the Add button.
  3. Click the user’s record to open the details.
  4. Scroll down, and then click the Edit Rate button.
  5. In the New Billing Rate box, type the billing rate for the user in US dollars per hour.
  6. Set the rate start and end dates.
  7. Click Save, and then close the dialog box.

This change overrides the current rate, including the current blended rate. When you need to revert any changes back to the user’s blended rate, click the Revert to Blended Rate button, and then click Continue. The Revert to Blended Rate button is not available if the employee has an individual rate (employee classification with the Employee using this classification will have individual rates option turned on).

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Print Friendly Version of this pagePrint Get a PDF version of this webpagePDF

Join the Atlassian Community!

The Atlassian Community is a unique, highly collaborative space where customers and Atlassians come together. Ask questions and get answers, start discussions, and collaborate with thousands of other Jira Align customers. Visit the Jira Align Community Collection today.

Need to contact Jira Align Support? Please open a support request.