10X: Backlog for Stories

A backlog is a prioritized list of work for the development team that is derived from the roadmap and its requirements. The most important items are shown at the top of the backlog so the team knows what to deliver first. The development team pulls work from the backlog as there is capacity for it.

You can manage and prioritize the stories in the story backlog. Click a title of a story to open a slide-out panel with more information about that work item.

Note: To view the story backlog, select a program and do not select a portfolio on the Configuration bar.

Options

  • Average Velocity. Average velocity for a team for the last five sprints.
  • Estimate. You can estimate stories by selecting value and effort points manually one by one or by playing effort and value poker.
  • Pull rank. You can use a parent feature rank to sort stories. You can also push the backlog rank to or pull ranking from a connected external Jira system when a program is selected on the Configuration bar and the PI is set to None. Otherwise, to prioritize your stories, you can drag them to the necessary position. Ranking is disabled if filtering is on.
  • Reports:
    • Story Burndown Chart displays story point burndown/burnup for a selected team. These charts represent work remaining/completed versus time.
    • Story Allocation shows the allocation of team members assigned to the selected sprint.
  • Sprint Load. A total of story points loaded into a sprint.
  • State. A state of a story’s development.
  • ID. A unique ID for the story.
  • Name. A name of a story.
  • Toggle views:
    • Parent. The parent feature of the story.
    • Schedule. The sprint this story is assigned to.
    • Tags. Tags that are used to make it easier to find a story.

Columns shown

The Columns Shown option offers to select which columns to display, providing some level of customization.

For the Story Backlog, you can choose to view such columns as Story Point Progress, Age, Child Count, Tag, Persona, Feature, Blocked, Process Step, Owner, Acceptance Criteria, Chat, LOV, LOE, MMF, Accepted, Story Type, and Automation. You can find out more about these columns in the Manage Stories topic.

Additionally, you can select custom fields that you have created for stories in Details Panels Settings. Only fields that are set as Active in Details Panels Settings are available for selection as columns in the backlog.

Filter

With the available filtering options, you can filter stories by tag, persona, feature, title, process step, owner, state, blocked, LOV, LOE, MMF, accepted, story type, and automation.

Quick add

You can quickly add a story directly in your backlog.

To add a story:

  1. In the New Story Name box, type the title for the story.
  2. Select the story’s LOE.
  3. Click Add. The story is automatically prioritized at the bottom of the list and is assigned to a program, team, program increment, or sprint based on where it was added from.

Right-click menu options

For faster navigation in the backlog, right-click a story to do the following:

  • Open in new tab. Open the work item in the full-page view in a new tab.
  • Duplicate. Copy the existing work item. You need to type a new name for the duplicate work item. The name must be unique. The work item is added to the bottom of the list and assigned to the same team and program increment/sprint that the original work item is assigned to.
  • Move To Next Sprint. Move the work item to the top of the next program increment/sprint. The new program increment/sprint is assigned to the work item. This option is grayed out if there is no upcoming program increment/sprint.
  • Move To Unassigned Backlog. Move the work item to the top of the unassigned backlog within the selected team/group.
  • Move To Top. Move the work item to the top of the list the work item is contained in.
  • Move To Bottom. Move the work item to the bottom of the list the work item is contained in.
  • Move To Position. Select the place to move the work item to. It is useful when you have a long list and dragging the work item is not convenient.
  • Move To Recycle Bin. Move the work item to the recycle bin if you no longer need it. 
Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Print Friendly Version of this pagePrint Get a PDF version of this webpagePDF

Join the Atlassian Community!

The Atlassian Community is a unique, highly collaborative space where customers and Atlassians come together. Ask questions and get answers, start discussions, and collaborate with thousands of other Jira Align customers. Visit the Jira Align Community Collection today.

Need to contact Jira Align Support? Please open a support request.