10X: Delete and Restore Backlog Work Items

You can delete the work items you do not need anymore. Deleted items can be restored from the recycle bin. If you restore an item, only the item is restored and not its child items. After you have restored an item, check the audit log which will show you when it was deleted and also a string of the child items that were deleted. You can then restore each child item if needed. You can also permanently delete the items from the recycle bin.

To effectively manage your work process, you can delete several items at once and restore them if necessary. Only a Super Admin can perform the mass delete. If you delete a working item, all its child items are also deleted.

As an example, this topic describes the procedure of deleting and restoring stories, but you can also use the following procedures for epics, capabilities, features, tasks, and defects.

Important: You cannot mass delete tasks and defects.

To permanently delete or restore a story:

  1. Select Team from the left menu bar.
  2. Under the Manage section of the menu bar, select Stories; the Stories page displays.
  3. On the toolbar (top-right of the page), select Access Recycle Bin from the More Actions menu.
  4. From the Item drop-down menu, select Story.
  5. From the Program and Program Increment drop-down menus, select the program and PI to which the stories belong.
  6. Select the check boxes of the stories you want to permanently delete or restore, or select the check box in the header to select all stories.
  7. Click Permanently Delete or Restore, depending on what you need to do.
  8. Close the dialog box.

To mass delete stories:

  1. Select Team from the left menu bar.
  2. Under the Manage section of the menu bar, select Stories; the Stories page displays.
  3. On the toolbar (top-right of the page), select Mass Move from the More Actions menu.
  4. On the Mass Move page, click the Mass Delete View button in the upper-right corner.
  5. From the Object drop-down menu, select Story.
  6. From the Program Increment and Program drop-down menus, select the PI and program to which the stories belong.
  7. Select the check boxes of the stories you want to delete or click Check all to select all stories.
  8. Click Move to Recycle Bin, and then click Continue in the confirmation message.
Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Print Friendly Version of this pagePrint Get a PDF version of this webpagePDF

Join the Atlassian Community!

The Atlassian Community is a unique, highly collaborative space where customers and Atlassians come together. Ask questions and get answers, start discussions, and collaborate with thousands of other Jira Align customers. Visit the Jira Align Community Collection today.

Need to contact Jira Align Support? Please open a support request.